Marie

Online French Tutor

Marie

Toulouse-Le-Mirail University (France) - postgraduate - Teaching MFL

4.9

I have the experience of a wide range of students and fit their needs. We can arrange a first free meeting to see if I correspond to your requirements.

Recent Students: 6 Total Hours: 259 Last Online: 23 Nov 2020
All-time Students: 15 Total Classes: 240 Signed Up: 19 Oct 2017

About me

I love languages, learned German, English and Spanish to the Baccalauréat, lived one year in Germany, 5 years in Spain and travelled many times to India. I have been living in England for 20 years. I have been learning Hindi for around 10 years and stayed 5 months in India to progress with communication. I completely understand the struggle the students are going through as I am myself a slow learner. I used to really dislike grammar as a child, but teaching it, I have now become a great fan.

Tutor Experience

I worked in the past for businesses in Spain and UK and in private language schools in Spain. I also organised after school language clubs and lessons in a primary Montessori school when I lived in Oxford. Now in I am currently teaching for the Alliance Française as well as being a freelance tutor. I have more than 20 years experience in a wide range of teaching/tutoring contexts.

I have taught many students from primary to A Level and Baccalaureate. I occasionally helped university students and have also had many adults, who took French or Spanish, whether as a hobby, because they have a house in the country or for professional reasons. I also did my PGCE in 2002 and after completing the teaching period, decided it wasn't for me. I really like the privileged relationship the one-to-one tuition brings. I help the school students (GCSE, A Level, Baccalaureate etc.) to close the gap or excel in class, the adult to explore the language with all its diversity (structure and communication) and I also teach children with songs, enjoyable activities, it is also possible online.

Topic Expertise

GCSE and IGCSE French and Spanish, A Level French, IB French and European Baccalaureate. I also have a good experience in teaching children and adults.

Client Reviews

wenjing amber - French

my daughter enjoyed the lesson and commented highly ...Thank you Marie!

Maddy - French

Excellent. As always.

Testimonials

28-06 17:03 Naomi Hi Marie, hope you’re well. Just got my results today! I got a 2.1 overall and managed to get a first in French! Thank you so so much for all your help, I definitely couldn’t have done it without you :)

In preparation for a year in Argentina teaching English, I needed to learn Spanish from scratch! I had no prior knowledge of the language at all. Marie was able to help me attain enough Spanish to feel confident in finding my way in my new surroundings. I had the required language to make friends, to find somewhere to live, to find work, to talk to my students and to travel. Without Marie I'd have been at sea! Harriet Kaspar Madame Fohr has taught French to our two daughters (aged 7 & 9) for 3 hours a week between Sept 2014-July 2015. Madame Fohr has helped them in deepening and improving both their confidence and capability in French in an enjoyable way. Madame Fohr has a caring and professional approach with children, working with their strengths and development needs as individuals. It has been a pleasure having Madame Fohr teaching our children over the last year, and I would not hesitate to recommend her teaching services to others. Sanna Ratilainen Hi Marie Just to let you know that Sophie got an A* in Spanish. Scored 391/400 overall Thought you'd like to know! Her results overall were excellent but Spanish is a particular achievement as that was the one subject she was underachieving in, so a big thank you to you! Kind regards Michelle

Price: $60-70/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Background Checks

Upload Verified

Qualifications

2000/01 PGCE Modern Languages, French and Spanish. Oxford Brookes University, Westminster College.
1995: Postgraduate degree, teaching foreign languages, specializing in French, University of Mons-Hainaut (Belgium), Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (Spain), University of Toulouse-Le-Mirail (France)
1994: Masters degree, teaching French as a foreign language, Toulouse-Le-Mirail University.
1992: Licence, Spanish literature and civilization, with option teaching French as a foreign language, Toulouse-Le-Mirail University, France

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening