Andrew

Andrew

5.0 (0)

0 hours of classes

Online Tutor

University of Cambridge - Natural Sciences - BA

A knowledgeable, engaging and friendly science, maths and admissions tutor!

About me

When I'm not studying or teaching others I can most often be found playing some sort of sport. I love playing rugby, and have taken much pride in my past roles as College Rugby Captain and playing for my university. I am also an avid skier, and have plans to spend half a season skiing in Whistler in Canada with a friend, where I hope to continue my tutoring work via Skype! Tennis and golf also help to fill any spare time, as well as walking my 8 year old golden retriever Bailey. I try to bring the same enthusiasm that I have for sport, into my tutoring!

Tutor Experience

Hi, my name is Andrew Harley and I graduated from Cambridge University in June 2016 with a BA Hons degree in Biological Natural Sciences. I have worked for two years as a part-time Educational Assistant at a Kumon Maths and English Centre, teaching students of mixed abilities in a one-to-one environment. I have grasped the necessity to tailor teaching methods to each student individually in order to cater to their style of learning and their personality, as well as to stretch them academically.
During my three years at Cambridge I have offered advice on the personal statements of several family friends, and helped to better prepare them for interview and entrance exams, including the Thinking Skills Assessment (TSA). These experiences have confirmed that I take pride and pleasure in helping students to reach and exceed their goals. Through regular Rugby and Hockey coaching I have developed the interpersonal skills necessary to inspire and engage students of older ages.
My teaching skills and enthusiasm for helping young people are partnered by a strong academic background and a rigorous understanding of Biology, Mathematics and Oxbridge entrance exams. This enables me to create a productive and enjoyable tutoring environment, and achieve the results desired by students. I pride myself on my ability to break down complex topics into simple explanations, allowing students to ...

Price: $40-50/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening