Peter

Peter

Engineering Science MA

A friendly and relaxed tutor, I enjoy Mathematics and try to help my students to enjoy it too, because we all perform better in subjects that we enjoy.

5.0 (0)

0 hours of classes

About me

When not tutoring, I spend a lot of time with my 2 daughters and 4 grandchildren, as well as supporting my Mother-in-Law.

To keep fit, I try to run several times per week and I am a volunteer with the local Parks Trust, organising free, monthly fun runs for runners of all ages and abilities.

I am a Governor of the local Primary School, where I am Chair of the Finance and Personnel Committee and also subject link Governor for Maths, DT and Science.

Tutor Experience

I have always enjoyed Maths. At school I gained an A Grade at A Level. Studying for my Engineering Degree involved a lot more Maths and my career in Communications and IT Management required me to keep at least some of my Maths skills alive.

Since retiring, I have taken up tutoring, as a way to keep enjoying Maths, whilst also helping others to gain an essential skill.

Over the past 6 years, I have successfully delivered over 300 lessons online and a further 50 face-to-face. I have consistently received positive feedback from my students, several of whom have been pleasantly surprised by their exam results.

I take time to diagnose each student's barriers to learning and address them by providing different ways of looking at any topic.

I have a large collection of past Exam Papers and worksheets and will find more resources, whenever I need them to tailor a lesson to my students.

Topic Expertise

A Level Mathematics, Grade A1 (Oxford and Cambridge Board)

Testimonials

"Dan pulled it out of the bag and managed to get an A in his Maths GCSE. I have no doubt that this grade had a lot to do with your help and support. So a massive Thank You!" Mrs S (Dan's Mother)

"I wanted to thank you for all your help with my Maths. I was happy with my result and my teacher said I was comfortably in the Grade, as I scored high in the boundary, which I was worried about due to some of the questions in the paper. Thanks again” Nathan

"We have had two lessons with Peter already and my son is really enjoying them. Peter is easy to get along with, has a sense of humour and gets down to work quickly in a no-nonsense style which means that the hour is filled with learning!" Mrs B

$35-45/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Background Checks

Upload Verified

Qualifications

MA (Oxon) Engineering Science 1977

MSc Design of Information Systems - Cranfield 1985

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening