Keith

Online Tutor

Keith

Goldsmiths College - PhD - Sociology

5.0

I have twenty years experience of teaching at universities and colleges in the UK and worldwide, at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. In addition, I have privately tutored undergraduates and postgraduates for several years. What I enjoy most is working with individual students to help them fulfil their potential. I have a particular speciality in tutoring on dissertations and independent study modules.

Recent Students: 7 Total Hours: 24 Last Online: 12 Nov 2020
All-time Students: 7 Total Classes: 24 Signed Up: 08 Apr 2020

About me

When I am not tutoring I lecture at two higher education institutions and as a fellow of a think tank. I also write for academic and non-academic publications. I am the author of 6 books and many articles.


Tutor Experience

I have been employed as a lecturer at for a number of universities as a lecturer at undergraduate and postgraduate level. As a private tutor I have worked with dozens of undergraduate and postgraduate clients over the last 5 years.

Every student is an individual. Of course, that’s easy to say but in practice, sometimes teachers can use the same approach with everyone they teach. I start with a blank page: My first priority is to get to know students; what they feel they need and what concerns them. I design every programme of study from scratch, in consultation with the student. When things get tough, I’m a calm presence and I don’t quit. And I love what I do! I’m passionate about learning and I want to help others feel that passion too.

Topic Expertise

I am, by training, a sociologist but I also have expertise in the wider social sciences as well as media studies, popular music studies and religious studies. My two main research areas are the sociology of the Jewish community and the sociology of popular music scenes.

Client Reviews

Ameer - Academic Writing

Keith is great and honest teacher. He is building my confidence.

Testimonials

I can't say enough positive things about working with Keith. In the beginning stages of my MA I was exceptionally nervous about my abilities, and Keith provided steady reassurance and guidance throughout the process to such a point that I am currently in the process of seeking PhD programs in Anthropology. I felt he was very fair, and provided a tough talk or two along the way when I needed it. He responded to e-mails quickly and with an encouraging tone. He taught me how to use Zotero and EndNote which made the research process easier and more enjoyable. There was no point during the process where I felt unable to bring my concerns to him and would highly recommend him as a tutor to anyone. Postgraduate student

"Keith has been prompt at getting in touch, has provided structured support with recommendations for improvement and kept to agreed schedules.I would seek guidance from Keith again with future essays.” - Postgraduate Student "He seems to "know his onions”! He has decided to focus first on my note taking which seems a good place to start!” - Postgraduate Student

Price: $65/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Background Checks

Upload Verified

Qualifications

Haberdashers Askes’s School: 3 A-levels (all grade A); Cambridge University: BA in Social and Political Sciences; Goldsmiths College: MA in Sociology with Special Reference to Qualitative Research (Distinction); Goldsmiths College: PhD in Sociology.

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening