5.0 (1198)

View Profile

1069 total hours

126 hours in Secondary Science

Gareth $50-60/hr

Anatomical Sciences - Leeds University

I have been tutoring and teaching for over 15 years, and over half of that has been spent in the position of Head of Science or assistant principal. I believe that I am easy to be around and students feel comfortable when working with me and are confident that they can ask any question, no matter how silly they may perceive it to be. I always try to think of relevant and engaging ways to tackle a topic to enable all abilities to understand.
Having left teaching in September 2018 to spend more time with my baby daughter, I've set up my own business that designs lesson resources for other teachers. This not only means that I have access to hundreds of resources that I share during lessons to back up the learning but also means that I'm aware of the intricacies and key details of all of the specifications, including the International ones

Gareth's last completed Secondary Science job with Zoe:

1-2 hrs/week - My 15 year old daughter is in year 10 in a local comprehensive. She has aspiration to study medicine but is struggling with her sciences.
She is bright and can be very hard working but lacks confidence and can be easily distracted. She is taught in a relatively large group of mixed ability children but does really well in focused one to one attention sessions.

We perceive that she has not progressed this year as well as she could so we are keen to act now and put in place some remedial measures.

Her school teaches triple sciences focusing on each subject for a few months at a time. She is currently struggling with chemistry so this is the immediate need. Ideally we would like a tutor that would be capable of moving on to support my daughter with the other sciences as the year develops and the school moves on from chemistry to biology to physics.

We are looking for an experienced, creative and engaging tutor that has worked in similar situations and can offer direction to help her a) get the foundations right b) develop her confidence skill and understanding c) get her on track to achieve top grades in her GCSEs.

Gareth's last review in Secondary Science from Zoe:

TBD Great, as always.

5.0 (431)

View Profile

447 total hours

57 hours in Secondary Science

Marie K $55-65/hr

Neuroscience - University College London

I have tutored in person and online for over 10 years and receive great feedback with my students receiving mostly 8, 9's, A*'s and A's. I believe that interacting and stimulation is the key to excellent tutoring.
I work mainly on perfecting exam techniques and how to answer the question for maximum marks. I have a lot of practice material and previous exam material.

I welcome inquiries from anyone who would like extra, on-going tuition, help with general revision or assignments, or preparation for exams.

I have experience with OCR, AQA and Edexcel syllabus.

Marie K's last completed Secondary Science job with Luca:

1-2 hrs/week -

5.0 (235)

View Profile

232 total hours

44 hours in Secondary Science

Andy $45-55/hr

Physics Degree - Exeter University / Oxford University

I have extensive experience as a private tutor, as a classroom teacher and as an online tutor. I have worked in schools in the UK, in Europe, the Americas and Asia. I have been employed as a live in tutor by one of the most prestigious private tutoring agencies and I have worked for many years as an online tutor. I have a proven track record of improving students knowledge, understanding and exam results. I have extensive experience with students working in English as a foreign language as well as native language English speakers.

I have taught GCSE, IGCSE, A Level and IB Diploma. I have also taught the Swedish National Maths Syllabus and prepared students for 11+, 13+ and Key Stage 2 examinations.

Andy's last completed Secondary Science job with Jayanthi:

1-2 hrs/week - I am requesting for my daughter and she is currently in Year 7. She needs support in learning concepts in science subjects so that she can improve in the upcoming exams .

Andy's last review in Secondary Science from David:

A demonstration of the classroom , how lessons would work and a couple of activities for your two girls. Probably they can do the demo together and then we can decide how to proceed. The class was excellent. Hired.

5.0 (182)

View Profile

162 total hours

21 hours in Secondary Science

Tom $40-50/hr

Astrophysical Processes - Durham Universiry

I have successfully taught all subjects I am offering up to and including A Level. Experienced with AQA, OCR, Edexcel, and Eduqas. As a senior leader I have coached and mentored new and experienced teachers giving me a deep understanding of teaching methodologies. Skilled in differentiating learning, my student-centred approach ensures all students make progress. I am dedicated to developing the passion for lifelong learning in others.

Tom's last completed Secondary Science job with Jayanthi:

1-2 hrs/week - I am requesting for my daughter and she is currently in Year 7. She needs support in learning concepts in science subjects so that she can improve in the upcoming exams .

5.0 (155)

View Profile

163 total hours

13 hours in Secondary Science

Steve $35-45/hr

Chemistry - Oxford

In a job where experience is vital, I've been privileged to tutor students for over 15 years. It's enabled me to build up an excellent selection of resources, teaching materials and illustrations - as well as a very good working knowledge of the syllabus of all exam boards, including International Baccalaureate.

Steve's last completed Secondary Science job with Alon:

Intensive - Im in 8th garde I need help in science

5.0 (188)

View Profile

236 total hours

6 hours in Secondary Science

Wafaa $45-55/hr

PhD - The University of Leeds

I can tutor many Electronic and Electrical engineering modules, e..g. Mathematics, signal processing, communication engineering, antennas, propagation, electronics, circuit analysis etc. Of course, depending on the student's specific need, I can assess how and whether I can help.

I have good experience in teaching mathematics and science (physics, chemistry and biology) in secondary schools. I am especially skilled in mathematics and physics. I helped in teaching mathematics in undergraduate engineering. For more than three years, I have been privately tutoring A-level maths and physics students as well as tutoring at KS2, KS3, GCSE, IGCSE, undergraduate and postgraduate. I am also able to support SEN students.

I have more than 3000 hours of tutoring experience and I am quite familiar with the different curriculums and exam boards specifications.

Wafaa's last completed Secondary Science job with M:

1-2 hrs/week - I am currently looking for a tutor to help fill the gaps in my daughter's knowledge in science as she starts year 9 next week and to prepare her for her GCSE in a few years. We will like to start with 1 hour lesson per week (ideally on Monday or Tuesday from 5pm) which will likely increase to two lessons a week to include Maths.

Do you have availability for the evenings above please and will appreciate if you can confirm what your hourly rate is.

Thanks

5.0 (75)

View Profile

72 total hours

5 hours in Secondary Science

Lizzie $40-50/hr

Chemistry with Spanish for Science - Imperial College London

I have years of experience both tutoring and mentoring young people, and am now working as a chemistry teacher, so I have access to useful resources, across KS3, 4 and 5. This means I can ensure the right support to help students truly understand the topic and get the best grade possible.

Lizzie's last completed Secondary Science job with Jialin:

1-2 hrs/week - I have a student who is 12 years old and study at year 7 level. English is her 2nd language. We are looking for a Science teacher who could help with her Science study. Thank you.

4.9 (10)

View Profile

10 total hours

1 hour

Elena $46/hr

Secondary and Science - Liverpool Hope University

I am a fully qualified teacher of Science with experience of AQA and Edexcel exam boards.

I have been tutoring one-to-one throughout the University years and occasionally after the submission of my PhD thesis. I absolutely love tutoring as it enables me to put all of my time and energy into supporting my students, and tailor my teaching approach to suit their individual needs.

My online sessions are taught on Zoom and I can provide support via email between sessions. Also, I am available for marking work students may wish to complete between sessions.

My approach is tailored to identify and suit each student's learning needs. As a qualified teacher I know the common misconceptions that students usually have, I can teach students exam technique and strategies to help them decode the questions and answer them correctly.

Elena's last completed Secondary Science job with Luca:

1-2 hrs/week - I am looking for a science tutor for preparing 13+ scholarship

5.0 (855)

View Profile

874 total hours

Eleanor $52/hr

Veterinary medicine / Biological Sciences - The Royal Veterinary College / University of Oxford

I have over 4 years of experience in tutoring the sciences across a range of exam boards and levels, and am focused on ensuring each of my students understands how they will best reach their goals.
I am passionate about the subjects that I tutor, and am able to deliver them in innovative and engaging ways. My aim is to build up the confidence of my students in any given subject, and to help each individual to realise their potential.

Eleanor's last completed Secondary Science job with Frederique:

1-2_HOURS - consolidating & going deeper in knowledge before starting Y8 in september.

4.9 (143)

View Profile

151 total hours

Kathrine $40-50/hr

Animal Science and English Literature - Canterbury Christ Church

I have been tutoring online and 1-1 for 3 years now. I offer a range of styles in my teaching that allows the student to get involved with the lesson. This may include: labeling diagrams, creating a flow chart, completing a graph, correcting mistakes in a method e.t.c.

I have recently become an online tutor full time. This is giving me more time to make outstanding lessons for my 1-1 students. I can spend more time making sure that each student is getting the best education possible and be able to achieve grades they could not manage in a school environment.

Closer to exams, I show students how to answer exam questions. I am an examiner at AQA so I understand what the examiners are looking for and can help students with exam techniques.

Kathrine 's last completed Secondary Science job with Richa:

1-2 hrs/week -

page 1

Need a Secondary Science Tutor?

All our tutors are hand-picked, interviewed and trained. We have many Secondary Science tutors that are ready to help you succeed.