4.9 (77)

View Profile

73 total hours

Jasmine $65/hr

BMus Hons degree - Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London

I like to make learning a language an enjoyable experience, whether that be French or English. I have been teaching languages and music for the last 9 years to people of all ages and levels, in countries including; Wales, London, Italy, France, Belgium, Morocco and Costa Rica. I believe it should be fun, fulfilling and mainly conversational, alongside the study of grammar, writing and reading. I have the ability to adjust my teaching method in order to suit the learner, as I believe everybody comes at languages from a different angle; some from an aural perspective and others from a more grammatical understanding. It is important for me to understand the learners' approach so I can help them fully immerse in the subject. I believe that languages are a vital skill in this global world today and would love to help you improve and work towards fluency in either French or English. I am happy to teach the basics as-well as the following examinations; IBDP, GCSE, A-level and University Degrees in both languages.

Music tutoring; I tutor Music GCSE and A.S/A-Level, piano grades 1-7, voice (jazz/pop), composition and music theory levels 1-8.
I believe ultimately the study of music should be fun and fulfilling and that the fundamental basics of music (e.g. scales/understanding of harmony & theory/listening skills/analytical skills) are required in order to progress with excellence. Musical examinations are not essential in order to be a great musician, but they do help one improve technique, precision and theory. GCSE and A-level music may well be necessary in order to study music at university level, particularly at music conservatoires. I consider music to be mainly about training the ear and playing with meaning and expression.

Charlotte $40-50/hr

Bachelor of Arts - Winchester School of Art

My specialism is Fine art, and have an extensive knowledge of photography and history of art.

I have a PGCE in Art and Design and a bachelors of Arts degree in Fine art.
I have I am a reflective, conscientious and encouraging tutor, I have structured teaching methods to suit student`s own pace and learning needs. I am able to teach fun step by step projects that explore a wide variety of materials and techniques.

Charlotte's last completed IGCSE Art and Design job with Rowan:

1-2 hrs/week -

5.0 (58)

View Profile

48 total hours

Siobhain $40-50/hr

Bachelor Of Education - Kent

Education degree

Specific Learning Difficulties Diploma

Acute Anxiety training

Autism and Wellbeing Mentor

Dyslexia specialist

Warm, patient and sensitive tuition style

Tuition in the application of essay techniques and the research of answers for many humanities, arts, social sciences subjects, including Education and also English.

Expert research, referencing, citation and planning guidance

Works at many universities in the SW of Uk

5.0 (60)

View Profile

65 total hours

Hannah $40-50/hr

Human, Social, and Political Sciences - University of Cambridge

I graduated from Cambridge last year, and wrote more than 50 essays over my time, and read even more books! I have learnt the hard way how to write a good essay, and how to read efficiently.
I miss studying and learning new things, but tutoring helps me to keep this up!
Because I have graduated I have more time for you!
I have taught a variety of adults and children from a wide range of backgrounds. I am currently running creative writing workshops for homeless, migrant, and LGBT+ groups in Cambridge, which has given me a huge variety of communication skills, with people both older and younger than myself. After teaching English in South Korea for a month last summer, there is no teaching challenge too big. I have learnt how to be clear and precise from working with people with English as a second language. I have taught sailing for 10 years at my sailing club. This requires teaching young people and adults complex pieces of theory, and most importantly, making these interesting to learn.

5.0 (1)

View Profile

1 hour

Jo $70-80/hr

Fine Art/ Art History - School of the Art Institute of Chicago

I have been working as a tutor for 8 years, helping students of a wide range of ages and abilities. This has included successfully preparing students for 11+ and 13 + Exams in Maths, English, VR and NVR for top UK day schools. I have helped older students at GCSE and IGCSE–level in English, German, History, and Design and Technology, Film Studies, Media Studies and Art, and worked with A-Level students of Art and Art History. I have reviewed personal statements, portfolios and applications for top US Universities, and provided essay writing assistance to first-year university students in Art History and Cinema and Media Studies.

My experience working with younger children includes volunteer work for the Homework Club at the Rugby Portobello Trust, an afterschool club for primary school children, and as a live-in au-pair and English tutor for a five and seven-year-old during my gap year.

Amy $35-45/hr

BSc Honours - Textile Design for Fashion & Interiors - Sheffield Hallam University

‘Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.’ B. Franklin

Here Franklin outlines a concept to which I wholeheartedly subscribe. Involving learners in the learning process fosters independence, ownership and a sense of responsibility for the outcomes of that process. If we combine this concept with a skills focused curriculum, authentic learning experiences and an environment that promotes creativity, we create an approach to learning and teaching that empowers students and enables them to develop skills that they can apply within any context and to any challenge that the 21st century might pose. I have the right blend of experience, creativity and drive to offer your students an experience that is challenging, engaging and thought provoking, as well as being linked to academic success.

Teaching experience
• Ten years teaching experience
• Six years of leadership experience (IB CAS Coordinator, Deputy Housemistress, Head of Year, Head of Department: Art/Design Technology)
• Coordinated the Eco-Schools Green Flag programme in three separate schools
• Three Years MYP teaching experience
• Six years GCSE/IGCSE teaching experience
• Eight years IB Diploma teaching experience (Visual Arts/Design Technology)

Positions held/Key Stage's taught
- ART Subject Lead - Dukhan English School in Qatar - KS3-5
- Teacher of Art/Design Technology - Haileybury Astana in Kazakhstan - KS3-5
- Teacher of Art/Design Technology - British School Jakarta in Indonesia - KS3-5
- Teacher of Design Technology - International Academy Amman in Jordan - KS3-5
- Teacher of Design Technology - King James's School in Knaresborough, UK - KS3-5

Aiden $45-55/hr

Classics - University of Cambridge

I have mentored and tutored on other websites and in undergraduate classes.

I have helped students submit prose composition pieces for school awards via webcam. I marked the student's submitted piece and we went over this together. I feel that reflecting over one's own work is the best way to improve. It required clear and thoughtful analysis to explain linguistic features to my student. I also like to make learning the language tie in with a familiarization with the cultural and literary context of the ancient world. This allows students to develop an insight into the society of the Greeks and Romans.

I have also taught linguistic features, such as the Greek aorist tense, to fellow students in student-led classroom sessions. This helped me to understand the subject matter on a deeper level, so that I have come to value teaching. I would ask my students to explain to me their understanding of certain things so that the lesson would be more of a conversations and discourse than a strict lecture.

In my years at Cambridge I have come to understand what it is that my DoS (Director of Studies) and supervisors expect of students. I shall aim to direct the lessons with a view to how supervisions are conducted. The interview process wants to see whether students are apt for such a teaching format. As well as interview help I can also give insight on how to make a strong applicati...

John $40-50/hr

Fine Art - University of Oxford

Having worked with artists and art historians, I am able to advise students in the development of ideas as well as the physical production of work in many media. Having gone to art school I know the application system very well and can help both with the student's portfolio and the interview process itself. I have a very good understating of 20th and 21st century art history and theory, which are essential areas for any student wishing to further their art education.

Larissa $40-50/hr

Education - University of Cambridge

I was not always an A* candidate, and understand the realities of not always finding things easy! The combination of skills I have acquired from teaching in foreign countries, studying education at Cambridge, and actually being a student means I am qualified to provide the necessary academic input, alongside building confidence, focus and motivation.
My experiences include teaching English, drama and running theatre workshops in the UK, France and India. Through studying Education with English and Drama at Cambridge, I am knowledgeable not only in effective teaching methodology, but also a range of subjects such as sociology, history, philosophy, psychology, English, theatre studies, film, and more broader concepts such as modernity, globalization, pluralism and global inequalities.
I have academic credibility: I just gained a 1st in my second year examinations.
Learning can be tough, and hopefully my open minded approach, friendliness and enthusiasm for learning can be of service! I am dedicated to enabling genuine understanding and confidence, rather than just a regurgitation of knowledge.
I have tutored three Oxbridge candidates- two of whom were successful, the other made it to interview rounds. I believe I can offer a realistic and valuable insight into the process itself, as well as acting as a strong and consistent support.

5.0 (1)

View Profile

1 hour

Albinia $40-50/hr

Double First - University of Cambridge

I am a University of Cambridge graduate with a double first in English. A passionate teacher of literature, drama, history, art history and creative writing, I am also very experienced in teaching English as a foreign language.

My tutoring style encourages young people to develop a focused excitement for their studies, which enables them to achieve their highest potential in exams. By teaching young people to think in a structured and creative way, and to write with style and clarity, I have assisted students in Britain and internationally to score highly across the board. As a recent graduate, I also bring up-to-date knowledge and innovative ideas to school studies, which can lack lustre for young people.

I have experience with learners of all ages, from 7 years old to 35! I have also taught students from Argentina, Japan, Togo and India.

page 1

Need a IGCSE Art and Design Tutor?

All our tutors are hand-picked, interviewed and trained. We have many IGCSE Art and Design tutors that are ready to help you succeed.