Sarah

Sarah

First Class Hons Engineering Science

I am caring and personable and can help anyone enjoy studying Mathematics.

5.0 (22)

22 hours of classes

About me

My husband and I have two young children and we love camping holidays, usually braving the UK weather. I play the violin and enjoy reading and attending exercise classes.

Tutor Experience

Having been a successful classroom teacher for twelve years, I have a proven track record of enabling pupils to achieve their highest potential at all levels. I have taught classes from Year 5 to Year 13 at a variety of schools and therefore have the skills and knowledge to support a wide range of pupils and can adapt my teaching methods depending on their individual needs. One of the things I pride myself on is my ability to build strong relationships with pupils. This strength is very advantageous in tutoring where building rapport and trust quickly is important in enabling pupils to have the confidence to respond and benefit from the lessons. My own deep understanding of Mathematics means that I can not only support pupils for whom the subject is a challenge, but also those aiming for the highest grades at A Level. Most importantly perhaps, I am passionate about my subject and I strive to make Mathematics enjoyable and accessible for all. I am currently taking time out from being a classroom teacher whilst my children are young. Whilst this has undoubtedly been a positive decision from a personal point of view, I really miss teaching – it is very much a vocational profession and one that I love and feel passionate about. I tutor privately in the evenings, though my evening availability is somewhat limited due to other commitments. I enjoy tutoring because I love helping individual pupils improve and consolidate their understanding of Mathematics and building their confidence. Tutoring gives me the opportunity to do the parts of the teaching job that I love in a slightly different way.

Testimonials

Sarah has provided my daughter with invaluable support in her preparation for GCSE Maths and this has really helped with her Maths confidence. (November 2018)

Sarah is an excellent teacher and has worked well at all levels, from years 7 to 13. Her subject knowledge is excellent and the quality of her lessons consistently high. I have watched her working in 1-1 situations and her empathy and adaptability have impressed me greatly. She is well-prepared, a good communicator and professional in her approach. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending her as a Maths tutor. (November 2018)

$40-50/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Qualifications

PGCE Secondary Mathematics - University of Manchester (2006)
Engineering Science First Class Honours - University of Oxford (2004)

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening