Liza

Online Tutor

Liza

University of Oxford - Mathematics - MMath

5.0

Hello! My name is Liza and I am a Masters graduate student at the University of Oxford. I have four years Mathematics tutoring experience and am fun, friendly and passionate. Please get in touch if interested.

Recent Students: 2 Total Hours: 1 Last Online:
All-time Students: 2 Total Classes: 1 Signed Up: 02 Dec 2016

About me

In my spare time, I volunteer with Girlguiding UK, as a fully qualified Leader. I have been volunteering with the organisation for the past 6 years, which has allowed me to gain extensive leadership experience.
I've learnt how to work with children of all ages and abilities; whether that be assisting a 5 year old with her spellings on her Mothers Day card, or inspiring a 17 year old to make their voice heard, and attend a national democracy event. I regularly put this experience to use, in my tutoring.

I am also passionate about sports. I trained as an Archery Coach four years ago, and have had many valuable experiences in that time. This includes working with looked after children, visually impaired members and those with other physical and mental disabilities. I am always overjoyed when, regardless of ability, one of my athletes achieves their own goal!

Lastly, I worked as an Undergraduate Interview Helper at Balliol College, Oxford, so am able to support A-Levels students in their applications to Oxbridge and other universities.

Tutor Experience

I am a Masters graduate student at the University of Oxford, and have tutored Mathematics in my spare time for the last four years. As a younger tutor, I am able to see problems from the student's perspective - a key factor in successful tutoring.
Using my recent experience of GCSEs and A-Levels, combined with extensive University study, I can work effectively with students of all ages and abilities. I will help the student to see how each idea of a solution is thought up, and how we might be able to apply these ideas to similar scenarios. In my opinion, this is far more beneficial than just giving the answer!

I have tutored students in a range of topics throughout GCSE and A-Level and have worked as an Academic Mentor on four summer schools for aspiring students (including the official Oxford University Summer School). I have experience delivering workshops on University admissions, and have helped 30 students prepare for their Oxbridge applications. In addition, 25% of the final year of my degree was based on Mathematics Education, where I gained extensive experience in teaching Mathematics.

I am available for weekly tutoring or more intensive study during the holidays. Please get in touch if interested. Thanks, From Liza.

Price: $45-55/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Qualifications

Academic Qualifications:
GCSEs = 11A*s including Maths, Sciences, English and Spanish
A-Levels = A*A*A in Maths, Further Maths and Chemistry, plus A in AS-Level Geography
Degree = Upper Second in BA Mathematics, from the University of Oxford
Masters = Currently studying for a Masters in Mathematics, from the University of Oxford

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening