Jasmine

Jasmine

D100 Veterinary Science BVSc MRCVS

A patient, supportive and friendly tutor specialising in science and 11+/primary-level

5.0 (5)

4 hours of classes

About me

What can I say about me? I am learning to be a vet at University at the moment. I live with my naughty and playful little rescue dog near a big nature reserve, and we share a house with the landlady and her beautiful Scottish Terrier. I am particularly passionate about helping students from all different walks of life achieve their education/career path goals, so outside of Uni studies I support several local school and college Outreach and Enrichment programmes.
If I had endless time and resources, I would be a self-employed artist as I love to draw, design and paint. However, between studying, tutoring, mentoring, driving lessons and spending many hours trying to exercise my devilish terrier (who honestly has infinite energy supplies... especially at around 5am in the mornings- oh joy), the art and creativity may have to wait for a while!
One day, I hope to go travelling, particularly in New Zealand and Italy. Also on my bucket list is to swim with wild dolphins, climb Snowdonia and complete the 3 Peaks Challenge.

Tutor Experience

I really enjoyed the role of a Senior Academic Mentor during Sixth Form, helping KS3 and GCSE students with various subjects or exam preparation. Also, assisting with Widening Participation and Academic Workshop facilitation programmes for primary-aged children for the last three or four years has been an incredibly rewarding experience.

I like to learn about the student's personal learning preferences, as I believe strongly in tailoring lessons to suit the individual. At the end of the day we are all unique - and that's great! - but it means that one lesson style may help one person learn and engage, but not another.
My ethos is to teach WITH a pupil, not teach AT a pupil, so I try to find different ways to engage with my tutees, to make learning and studying a fun and positive experience.
Neither criticism nor negativity have a place in my teaching style, because learning requires answers to be found, and answers only get solved by asking questions - and for the pupil to ask these important questions on their subject, there needs to be a trusting and friendly rapport between tutor and tutee, where the student does not feel judged, stressed or under pressure.

Client Reviews

pragathi - English

I am able to learn new vocabulary and it's good to see that my English is improving day by day which helps me for my 11+ exam.

pragathi - English

It was fun learning, easy to understand and was very helpful. I've learnt new vocabulary today.

$40-50/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Qualifications

11 x A* and 1 x A at GCSE
B Grade at French AS
A* A* A in Biology, Chemistry, Physics at A2


Enhanced DBS Check (December 2017)

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening