Lauren

Online Tutor

Lauren

University of Oxford - History - BA

5.0

I am a qualified, reliable, and patient tutor; I can help with anything from specific History-related questions, to dissertation issues/proofreading, to the Oxbridge application process.

Recent Students: 0 Total Hours: 0 Last Online: 18 Nov 2019
All-time Students: 2 Total Classes: 0 Signed Up: 02 Dec 2016

About me

I love to get involved with extra-curricular activities outside of university work.

To relax, I play tennis, take part in Oxford Women in Business as Communications Director, play guitar at open mic nights, and cook dinner with friends.

From 2014-2015, I had a lot of fun running the Lady Margaret Hall History Society, contacting and facilitating speakers’ visits, and holding discussion sessions following each talk.

Likewise, I enjoy languages, and I am proficient in French. Later this year I am attending a month long Italian course, as I would like to become fluent in multiple languages.

Tutor Experience

From my experience, I have found being a good tutor is about dedication and patience.

I have tutored students from GCSE to adult learners. I have also provided help with proofreading, planning, and finding sources for dissertations, as well as with preparation for the University and Oxbridge entrance hurdles. Recently, I tutored a boy in both English Literature and History. Having discussed what Matthew was struggling with over the phone, I drew up a number of work sheets suited to his needs, and we gradually worked through them together. Everyone requires a different approach, and tutoring is about being alive and responsive to that.

It is also probably important for me to cover my academic qualifications. At A-level, I received a D1 in Pre-U English Literature (A**), an A* in History, and an A in French. I also received an A in Physics at AS-level, and won the Salters National Prize for a Physics coursework essay. Since being at university I have received an academic scholarship.

Price: $45-55/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening