Katie

Online Tutor

Katie

UCL - PhD - Biomedical research

4.9

I am a science communicator and tutor. My main interests and areas of expertise are human biology and biochemistry.

Recent Students: 17 Total Hours: 176 Last Online: 24 Jan 2021
All-time Students: 43 Total Classes: 191 Signed Up: 23 Sep 2019

About me

I returned to education at the age of 30. I had always been a promising student but circumstances disrupted my academic career as a teenager.

At 30 I did an Access course in applied sciences in order to obtain a place at King's College London to study Nutrition and Dietetics. I fell in love with the underlying science and felt that my skills were better used in pursuing more science rather than becoming a clinician so I went on to do an MSc in Drug Discovery. This furnished me with a better understanding of science and medical research and my very inspirational project supervisor urged me to pursue a research career and to apply for PhD programs.

I learnt huge amounts during my PhD, had many interesting experiences and was fortunate enough to have lots of teaching experience. Since leaving academia I have been pursuing my interests in science communication and have been working freelance as a fact checker and researcher. I always found tutoring very rewarding. It is wonderful to see students attain their optimal grades and to thrive.

Tutor Experience

I tutored many students during my PhD, from school leavers wanting lab experience to tutoring fellow PhD candidates in sterile tissue culture techniques. The longest tutoring project I have undertaken was supervising a third year medical student for his intercalated BSc in Physiology. He won the prize for top project in his year (mainly due to his hard work and dedication) and was a joy to teach and really fuelled my interest in nurturing younger minds. More recently I tutored a young man who wanted to take his GCSE a year early; his spoken French was excellent but the writing was letting him down. I identified his weaknesses and we worked on those to raise his grade to an 8 overall.

Topic Expertise

My French and Italian are of a level where I would be confident to tutor to GCSE level. My maths is excellent, especially the maths used in the sciences (I attained 100% in AS maths in my Access course).

My strongest subject is human biology at an undergraduate level and related sciences at A level or below.

Client Reviews

Juliet - Biology

Katie is an amazing tutor!! I really appreciate her skills in biology and her ability to apply them to my curriculum in IB. Would highly recommend katie.

Gabby - Medicine

Great introduction.look forward to working with Katie on MSc Dissertation

Theo - Research Methods

Extremely helpful - very pleased!

Noah - Chemistry

Katie, thank you, thank you, thank you!  You have been incredible and I thoroughly enjoyed every single lesson with you.  Preparing for my Biology SL IB exams with you has been wonderful and thank you so very much for your kind, caring manner and dedication in every lesson – the notes, the powerpoint presentations, our discussions, your encouragement, sharing your love of your field … I cannot believe that now at the end of the IB I am wishing that I had studied Biology HL something unimaginable just a couple of months ago.  Thank you Katie so very much, you have been absolutely amazing!!

Anil - Biological Sciences

Katie was extremely helpful and gave very practical advice to help me advance with my work

Alex - Statistics

Clear feedback and way of explaining things. Well balanced session, thoroughly enjoyed it and will be seeking Katie's help again.

Simran - Medicine

Katie was fantastic- really thorough and definitely helped to raise the standard of my work.

Eilidh - Statistics

Katie you have been so supportive from so many miles away. Your help is so much appreciated. Top tutor!

Graham - Chemistry

Second time using Katie. Would highly recommend

Graham - Chemistry

Katie was great, and I will use her again.

Testimonials

Tommy, aged 15: Katie was a great tutor; she was patient, encouraging, and committed. She really helped me with my studies and revision, raising my grade from a six to an eight over the course of a few months.

Price: $65-75/hr

No upfront payments

Only pay as you go

Only teaches online

Background Checks

Upload Verified

Qualifications

BSc (Hons) Health Science (1)
MSc Drug Discovery (Distinction)
PhD Biomedical Science

Availability

Weekdays Weekends
Morning
Afternoon
Evening